Live Football Highlights & News

FIFA World Player Of The Year Nominees List

Cristiano Ronaldo 4

World superstar winger Cristiano Ronaldo is on course to retain his crown as FIFA’s World Player of the Year.

The Real Madrid ace, who won the award last season for his stunning form with Manchester United, has been named on a 23-man shortlist for this term’s accolade.

Voting will commence ahead of the annual gala in Zurich on December 21.

The following are the players nominated for the FIFA World Player 2009.

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

Iker Casillas (Spain)
Andres Iniesta (Spain)
Carles Puyol (Spain)
Fernando Torres (Spain)
David Villa (Spain)
Xavi (Spain)

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy)

Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

Michael Essien (Ghana)

Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden)

Kaka (Brazil)
Luis Fabiano (Brazil)
Diego (Brazil)

Frank Lampard (England)
Wayne Rooney (England)
John Terry (England)
Steven Gerrard (England)

Michael Ballack

Lionel Messi

Franck Ribery (France)
Thierry Henry (France)

error: Content is protected !!