Live Football Highlights & News

Legends – Diego Maradona


Diego Armando Maradona is a former Argentine football player, and current coach of the Argentine national side. He finished first in an internet vote for the FIFA Player of the Century award, and shared the award with Pelé.

Over the course of his professional club career Maradona played for Argentinos Juniors, Boca Juniors, Barcelona, and, most distinguishedly, Napoli. In his international career, playing for Argentina, he earned 91 caps and scored 34 goals. He played in four FIFA World Cup tournaments, including the 1986 World Cup where he captained Argentina and led them to their victory over West Germany in the final, winning the Golden Ball award as the tournament’s best player. In that same tournament’s quarter-final round he scored two remarkable goals in a 2-1 victory over England which instantly cemented his fame. The first goal was an unpenalized handball known as the “Hand of God”, while the second goal was a spectacular 60-metre weave through six England players, commonly referred to as “The Goal of the Century”.

For various reasons, Maradona is considered one of the sport’s most controversial and newsworthy figures. He was suspended from football for 15 months in 1991 after failing a doping test for cocaine in Italy, and he was sent home from the 1994 World Cup in the USA for using ephedrine.

After retiring from playing on his 37th birthday in 1997, he increasingly suffered ill health and weight gain, hardly helped by ongoing cocaine abuse. In 2005 a stomach stapling operation helped control his weight gain. After overcoming his cocaine addiction, he became a popular TV host in Argentina.

Although he had little previous managerial experience, he became head coach of the Argentina national football team in November 2008.

Full name: Diego Armando Maradona
Date of birth: 30 October 1960
Place of birth: Lanús, Argentina
Height: 1.65 m (5 ft 5 in)
Playing position: Second striker,Attacking midfielder (Retired)

Former Clubs

1976–1981: Argentinos Juniors
1981–1982: Boca Juniors
1982–1984: Barcelona
1984–1991: Napoli
1992–1993: Sevilla
1993: Newell’s Old Boys
1995–1997: Boca Juniors

error: Content is protected !!