Live Football Highlights & News

MLS 2009 Best XI Announced And David Beckham Not Included


The MLS Best XI for season 2009 has been announced by Commissioner Don Garber and world soccer superstar David Beckham has not been included.

The team however includes Seattle Sounders star Freddie Ljungberg.

An eleven of one goalkeeper, three defenders, five midfielder and two forwards was named after receiving votes from the media, MLS players, MLS coaches and general managers.

Out of the XI, six had been named in the team on prior occasions whilst five were included for the first time, including Ljungberg who enjoyed a stellar first season in MLS.

The 2009 MLS Best XI is as follows:

Zach Thornton (Chivas USA)

Chad Marshall (Columbus Crew)
Geoff Cameron (Houston Dynamo)
Wilman Conde (Chicago Fire)

Shalrie Joseph (New England Revolution)
Dwayne De Rosario (Toronto FC)
Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy)
Freddie Ljungberg (Seattle Sounders)
Stuart Holden (Houston Dynamo)

Jeff Cunningham (FC Dallas)
Conor Casey (Colorado Rapids)

error: Content is protected !!