Live Football Highlights & News

Ryan Giggs Shortlisted For The Ballon d’Or

Ryan Giggs

Manchester United’s veteran midfielder, Ryan Giggs is among 10 Premier League players shortlisted for the prestigious Ballon d’Or.

The award, previously known as the European Player of the Year, is an annual gong given out to the world’s top footballer by France Football magazine.

Manchester United ace Giggs, who scooped the PFA Player of the Year last season, is in the running along with team-mates Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic.

Arsenal have two representatives in the final 30, with Cesc Fabregas and Andrey Arshavin recognised for their form at the Emirates while Chelsea trio Didier Drogba, Frank Lampard and John Terry are also shortlisted, along with Liverpool pair Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres.

Last year’s winner Cristiano Ronaldo, who moved to Real Madrid from Manchester United in the summer, is also among the following players in the reckoning:

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid)
Iker Casillas (Real Madrid)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid)
Kaka (Real Madrid)

Frank Lampard (Chelsea)
John Terry (Chelsea)
Didier Drogba (Chelsea)

Samuel Eto’o (Inter Milan)
Julio Cesar (Inter Milan)
Maicon (Inter Milan)

Cesc Fabregas (Arsenal)
Andrey Arshavin (Arsenal)

Fernando Torres (Liverpool)
Steven Gerrard (Liverpool)

Ryan Giggs (Manchester United)
Wayne Rooney (Manchester United)
Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United)

Xavi (Barcelona)
Thierry Henry (Barcelona)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Barcelona)
Andres Iniesta (Barcelona)
Lionel Messi (Barcelona)
Yaya Toure (Barcelona)

Yoann Gourcuff (Bordeaux)

Diego (Juventus)

Edin Dzeko (Wolfsburg)

Luis Fabiano (Sevilla)

Franck Ribery (Bayern Munich)

David Villa (Valencia)

Diego Forlan (Atletico Madrid)

error: Content is protected !!